California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
6/05/04, 6:00 pm

Legal Question


Can Social Security be attached for debt?

Because of illness car payments are no longer an option. The car has not been driven for sometime, and must be returned to the bank. (Have tried to sell) Can Social Security payments be attached to pay what is left after the car is sold? Social Security payments are very low and can barely pay for meds and food. Understand Nevada has law, but thought it was a Federal law also. Or does California have such a law?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search