California  |  Education Law

question bubble
3/17/09, 3:48 pm

Legal Question


Special Education

My son has adhd and was in a special day class for 1st grade. It helped him tremendously. The problem with that is once they tested him at the end of the year he passed all tests and now have placed him in a regular classroom setting for 2nd grade.

He is not getting the extra help he needs. All his tests for the year have been below basic well under what he should be. I have asked the school for help but they insist that he is in the right placement and he just doesnt want to do the work. They have seemed to labeled him as a troubled child and dont seem to want to recognoze his disibility. IEP's are not working for him.

Is there any measures I can take to have placed back in a special day class??


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search