California  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/20/12, 5:29 am

I have a state law claim (medical malpractice). Both the doctor and I were a resident of CA at the time the malpractice occurred. I relocated to my home country since then and do not live here any longer. Can these circumstances be any basis to file a claim in the Federal Court?

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/20/12, 10:43 am by Hong Shen

You can file in federal court in the 9th Cir if your damage meet the minimum amount requirement. You can also sue in California state court.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Roberts Law Group 5707 Corsa Ave. Westlake Village, CA 91362

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/20/12, 12:53 pm by Anthony Roach

Filing in federal court with an issue like that involves diversity jurisdiction. Both of the parties cannot be from the same state, and the amount in controversy must exceed $75,000.00 exclusive of interest and costs. Wikipedia currently has a good article on diversity jurisdiction.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/20/12, 7:44 pm by Terry A. Nelson

No. You have neither diversity jurisdiction, nor a federal question. Hire an attorney in CA to file in Superior Court, where it belongs. If serious about doing so, feel free to contact me to discuss the facts and merit of the case.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search