California | Family Law
Legal Question
StepParent Adoption Procedures
I am a single mom of a 2yr old little girl. I am getting married on 9-1-01, not to her father. My fiance wants to adopt her. She has NEVER seen her father. He knows about her, and has since I was 2wks pregnant. He has NEVER paid child support and NEVER given her anything. He is NOT on the birth certificate. I can not afford an attorney, and I have the ''How to adopt you stepchild in California'' book with all the forms to do it myself. The only thing is I do not know if I need to do Termination of Parental Rights, Abandonment or Willful Failure to Support.
Her father has NEVER seen her. He knows where he can find us, we moved but everything still forwards to our new address and phone number. He has moved as well however I do not know where to.
He had many chances to see his daughter and never did. We made plans and he'd break them.
I have a written document log of any contact between he and I since I was pregnant. I have not spoken with him in a year.
Please help me!I just need to know to file the right papers with my adoption papers. I don't want to take a chance of this blowing up in my face.


