California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/03/06, 12:12 am

Legal Question


Tenant Broke Lease & Requests Deposit Refund

I own property that was mangaged by a property management company in Northern California. I recently gave my property manager 30-day notice and terminated service. I notified my tenants by certified mail of the changes and included an address to forward their rent.

My former property manager placed the tenants in a new property and the tenants have moved out of my property. However, they signed a rental agreement for one year, ending December 2006.

Rent was due September 1 and is considered late if not paid by September 3. I received a letter today from the tenants returning my house keys and they have requested the return of their deposit.

What are my legal rights and can the tenants be served a quit or pay notice? I want to know if I am obligated to return their deposit and if so, what is the time frame.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search