California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
8/28/06, 8:30 pm

Legal Question


Video Editors' intellectual property

I own an editing system at home and

am currently editing an independent

film. The director wrote and shot the

footage, while I input and edited the

media into a coherent story. While the

director owns the rights to the footage

itself, who owns the edited film?

Shouldn't the editor have intellectual

propert rights to his/her editing? Take

away the media (video) and the editor

still has a list of edit points and video

effects. Take away the list of edit

points, and the director has raw footage

with no coherent story. Who owns what,

and how much should the editor

demand for royalties on the film when it

gets released?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search