California | Disability Law
Legal Question
In California is it a violation of the ADA to fail to discuss a reasonable accom
A teacher has a mental disability and does not tell his employer. He has been employed 7 years in the school district. He is called into the principals office because his former lover reports that he is suicidal. At this point the teacher explains the nature of his bi-polar disease. The principal responds by calling in the police; even though the teacher has explained the nature of his disability and the fact that he contemplates suicide daily; which is also a part of his disease. The police handcuff him and take him out of the office area and he is sent to the county mental facility. He has simply asked that he be allowed to call his doctor so the principal could verify his sickness and if he had to go to a mental hospital his family should take him. The teacher has reasonably requested an accommodation but the principal has failed to talk about accommodation in any reasonable manner.


