California | Disability Law
Legal Question
I have chronic fatigue syndrome and my former employer was well aware of it. I was the therapist at a non-public school, but had no job description. Therefore, I was expected to do things such as run after students who A.W.O.L.'d from campus. One such incident flared up my fatigue and my doctor put me out on short-term disability. While I was on disability, I received a letter from my supervisor stating that I had "excessive" absences and would be terminated if I had further absences. I informed her that my doc had put me on disability and even scanned and e-mailed my doctor's note to her. I was set to return to work on 10/15/09, after being out for 3 weeks. However, on 10/09/09, I received a letter from my employer stating that I had been terminated. Now, apparently, my former employer has denied my unemployment. Is this all legal?
Top Areas of Law


