California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
1/22/01, 1:54 am

Legal Question


Difficult access due to repairs

My husband and I rent a condo. They are removing and replacing the entire elevator shaft and elevator. I am handicapped due to a bad leg (on crutches right now) and he is a diabetic which makes walking very difficult. Because of the repairs we have to walk up 2 flights of stairs. We were given less than 24 hours notice of this repair (by posted notice stating a down time of 7 days). Manager now says it will be 2-3 MONTHS of no elevator service. Do we have any recourse here as far as paying for us to stay off-site or reduction of rent due to loss of use of condo? Especially since we had no advance notice to arrange anything.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search