California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
1/06/11, 3:22 pm

Legal Question


We have an employee who was hired July 7th 2010 and took a leave in November for 3 weeks as she said she was "going into hospital". She is not eligible for FMLA/CFRA but it sounded like she was disabled so we allowed her leave on this basis. Last week she was absent Friday and left a phone message Monday she was in hospital. This time we were able to reach her and found out she is in alcoholic rehab. She has been an alcholic most of her adult life per her and she expects to be gone 2 to 4 weeks. Her Dr sent us a note saying she is not able to work. Per Cal Labor Code Section1025 "Every private employer regularly employing 25 or more employees shall reasonably accommodate any employee who wishes to voluntarily enter and participate in an alcohol or drug rehabilitation program, provided that this reasonable accommodationdoes not impose an undue hardship on the employer. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit an employer from refusing to hire, or discharging an employee who, because of the employee's current use of alcohol or drugs, is unable to perform his or her duties." She is 1 of 4 employees in teh office and it does cause hardship in the office to have 25% of the workforce missing. My question is, how much accomodation do we need to provide and can we let her go at this point?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search