California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
1/22/09, 8:15 pm

Legal Question


Employment policy change

I was diagnosed with MS several years ago. My doctor put me on an intermittant leave, working 3 days instead of 5. My company (Macys) had a sick pay policy stating that after 25 years of service (which I have) I am entitled to unlimited sick pay. When I was first put on the intermittent leave by my doctor, they paid me 2 days a week sick pay for 1 1/2 years, and then changed the policy to a limit of 6 sick days per year and would not cover my leave days. I also am on an FLMA leave on the books, so my job status has not changed since I was put on the interm. leave. Can they change a policy like this after paying me the sick pay for so long, and then just take it away?

Thank You


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search