California | Disability Law
Legal Question
I have a new handicap placard due to a nerve condition in my feet. My employer today decided that instead of leaving the building through the closest exit (shipping) I will not be able to do this. I now have to exit through the left side entrance of the building and walk all the way to the right side of the building to get to my vehicle in the handicapped parking place. I thought the handicapped parking place must me set at the closest entrance. We do have a ramp for customers, but I have to go up stairs with questionable railings. Is this leagal?
Legal Answer
no
Law Offices of Elizabeth Karnazes P.O. Box 4747 Foster City, CA 94404
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
An employer is obligated to provide 'reasonable' accommodation upon proper notice of valid medical requirements, if it can be done without substantial burden to the company, and will allow you to still perform all the essential functions of your job. If they violate those rules, you may have a legal claim to pursue. If so, feel free to contact me for the help you'll need. In your case, a doctor's report and instructions should be enough to remedy this situation.
Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648
► Other answers from this attorney

