California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
10/08/09, 12:39 pm

Legal Question


what is the legal weight for someone who is obese to be considered handicap?

and what are the legal statistics that determens if a person is medically obese or if someone has chosen the pathway to becoming obese?


question bubble
10/08/09, 12:58 pm

Legal Answer


Being overweight is not considered a handicap, at any weight, unless the cause of the obesity is due to a medical condition that would, in itself, be a handicap.

Michael Kirschbaum

Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/08/09, 1:33 pm

Legal Answer


Weight is not a protected 'disability', as it is within your control, not an immutable condition like race or sex.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search