California | Disability Law
Legal Question
If I negotiate my severence in writing and my employer doesn't respond within 21 days, am I screwed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Kirschbaum |
Your question is too broad to be able to tell you if you are "screwed". You may be referring to the 21 days employers must give employees who are 40 years old or over, to consider signing an offer of severance. The offer expires, if not accepted, after 21 days (in some cases, it can be up to 45 days). If you made a counter-offer, that can be deemed a rejection of the original offer made by the employer.
The fact that you have not heard from the employer should be assumed they will no longer offer severance. It is my experience that most employers want you to sign the release that is almost certainly contained in the agreement. That may be a motivating reason they will still entertain paying you severance, though it may not be the amount you are looking for.
Every case is based upon many specific facts that relate to the employment relationship and the reasons it has ended. Whether or not you can still negotiate with this employer will be based on criteria that can only be assessed after consulting with experienced employment law counsel. Don't give up...either continue to communicate with the employer, directly, or with the assistance of counsel. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
The Law Office of Arkady Itkin
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


