California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
10/14/09, 12:18 am

Legal Question


Our public golf course recently contracted with new managers.

the new people have ordered our 3 senior clubs,(men's, ladies and co-ed) to disband and cease all club activities on the premises. We appealed the order to our park district, which administers the course on behalf of our county supervisors. The managers became very angry and are pushing confrontations with some of us, very hostile, intimidating and attempting to ban us from the course. Can They do this? We are all seniors ranging in age up to 91. Many of us are disabled and cannot play larger,more difficult courses.


question bubble
10/14/09, 1:05 pm

Legal Answer


Whatever rights you may have as a 'club' are contained in any written agreements your club may or may not have with the facility. If that provides you with some kind of enforceable tights, then pursue them. If not, then the business is free to set and change its rules and policies. IF a specific member believes he is being discriminated against by age or disability, then there may be protection for him as an individual, but not as a 'club'.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless
18685 Main St., #175
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search