Legal Question in Disability Law in California

I have a question regarding my overpayment for my family leave. Around 2005 I have an overpayment of almost $2,000 up to $ 2,500 but since I was unemployed and my husband passed away now the payment was increase to $ 5,989.60 which include interest and penalty I would like to make a portion payment but not to the extend that I will pay the penalty and interest is there something I could do or could you help me settle it with them that I could make a monthly payment of $100.00 and waive all the ineterest and penalty as I cannot afford to pay accumulated interest and penalty and I don't have no permanent job and as you know a lot of people are experiencing financial crisis now adays.

Asked on 3/25/13, 11:33 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You can contact them and try to negotiate a reasonable payment plan and settlement. It is up to them what they will accept. Be persuasive about your limited ability.

Read more
Answered on 3/25/13, 12:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88693 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now