California | Disability Law
Legal Question
I was recently sent to a doctors office in San Diego, CA. When I arrived I found out that her office which she shares with other doctors was actually an old home with stairs leading into the home and had no way for me to get into the house. I am a double amputee, missing one leg and one arm, and in a wheelchair at all times. She said we could sit outside or sit in my car while she evalulated me. She spent 15 minutes with me in my car when I had expected an hour in her office. It was embarassing and unprofessional, to say the least. Doesn't a doctors office need to be ADA COMPLIANT? I am constantly encountering stores with no room for my wheelchair and restrooms I cannot fit in. What can be done about this?


