California | Disability Law
Legal Question
My son is a 5th grader in elementary school. He is autistic and in a special day class. Today when I picked him up from school, he told me that when he was waiting to be picked up, that his teacher asked him to move away from another child in line, because that childs mother didn't want my child around her son. I went in the school office and asked to speak to the teacher and told her what my child said. She said that yes, that she was told to separate the other child from mine. I asked if his mother requested this, she said that was confidential information. My child has done nothing to this other child at all. They have been in the same class since 1st grade. The other child was moved to my sons class 3 days ago from another child and the request was made for her child to be separated from my child, before her child was moved to my childs class. Is it legal for schools to separate kids for no reason, but a parental request, if its not, does that parental request have to be made in writing? Since he is in special education, does this somehow violate my childs rights?


