Question
I work at a camp that provides trail rides for our guests. I've heard that it is illegal to not allow people to ride even if they are extrememly overweight. Is this true?
Some people are so, so obese and out of shape, they can hardly get on a horse with a mounting block and a wrangler to help them. Once they are on, they don't fit in the saddle (ie legs are so round that they can't move their legs in order to control the horse, and the saddle horn is pressing into the ront of them). This much weight sitting up on a horse makes the whole thing top heavy and extremely unsafe, not to mention the fact that many people who are this overwieght are not able to controle their bodies in ways that are necessary to navigate their horse on the trail.
What about people with back problems, back problems and are overweight? Do you have any suggestions to help me work through this? I know that if a person gets hurt on the trail ride, I will be held responsible. In my opinion, severely obese people are an accident waiting to happen on a horse trail ride. Also, I would never want to hurt anyone's feelings. Thank you for your time.
Answers
| Being overweight is not necessarily a disability, unless it |
| Weight is not a protected category under the discrimination |
Top Areas of Law