California | Administrative Law
Legal Question
aiding and abedding
Here's the deal. My sister-in-law has been in and out of trouble the past few years. She managed to get herself put into drug court(?). Apparently one of the stipulations of not going to jail was to attend classes and abide be some house rules (the drug court put her up in a small studio apartment) Well, she didn't abide by the rules and got kicked-out of the apartment, and from what I gather kicked-out of the classes too. She was then supposed to report to the court and face jail time for not completing the program. Instead she ran, and started living on the streets with her 6-month-old child. When my wife found out about it, she sent her a train ticket to come out to our neck of the woods. She is now staying with us. Let me start with a couple questions.
1. What legal issues are we (my wife and I, and our two children) getting ourselves into?
2. What options does my sister-in-law have at this point?
3. Would leaving the state be a good/BAD idea for her?
4. Will waiting to turn her self in make things much worse?
She is apparently facing a minimum of 16 moths with a maximum of 2-3 years. Does that sound right?
Thank you in advance for your time and knowledge.


