California | Administrative Law
Legal Question
A. If the California Business and Professions Code is supposed to have the legal effect of a "restatement", how is it that it is also considered a law when people are accused of violating it, for example, B&P Code 2660? Wouldn't a prosecutor have to cite "real" law, with intent, elements and a staute of limitations?
B. What is the statute of limitations for CA B&P Code 2660?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
A. The B&P Code is not a "restatement." Restatements are semi-official attempts to condense, purify, and explain the common law (derived from court decisions, or so-called "judge-made" law), as opposed to statutes, which are legislature-made law. The California Codes, including the B&P Code, are all legislature-made, and statutory. In the case of any conflict, statutes prevail over judge-made or common law.
Nevertheless, the various Restatements, such as the Restatement of the Law of Contracts, or the Restatement of the Law of Restitution, or of Torts, etc., can be cited in briefs and pleadings and have some persuasive value in California courts. In that respect, the law as explained in the various restatements is "real."
Statutes of limitations are DEFENSES, and it is up to the defendant to figure out what they are and assert them as defenses at the appropriate point in a lawsuit, criminal prosecution or administrative proceeding. The prosecutor, plaintiff or whatever has no particular duty to determine and assert defenses. Blatant disregard of an obvious defense may sometimes be bad faith or malicious prosecution on the part of a plaintiff or prosecutor, but generally not; it is up to the defendant to defend.
In the particular matter of administrative suspension or revocation of professional licenses such as physician's licenses, there appears to be NO statute of limitations and only a vague prohibition against delay that is so long it is prejudicial to the defendant. A leading case on the matter seems to be Fahmy v. Medical Board of California (1995) 38 Cal.App.4th 810, in which the Court of Appeal found it erroneous for the trial court to apply the three-year statute for wrongful death to a physician's license revocation where his patient died. The court noted that the Legislature had deliberately avoided enacting a statute of limitations in connection with that license-revocation procedure, and deemed that to show an intention to give the power to suspend or revole an indefinite life. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Search Questions and Answers


