California  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
2/26/10, 12:12 am

Legal Question


My employer gave me notice on Wed 2/24/10 that may hourly rate will be reduced to $12/hr. I currently make 14.50/hr for the past year there. We are behind 2 weeks in pay, which means this payday will be for hours worked between 2/7/10 - 2/14/10. Can my employer implement the new pay rate for prior hours worked?


question bubble
3/03/10, 2:43 am

Legal Answer


NO - look to the california department of labor website known as the DLSE for the rules - he has already violated several of them according to what you have written - particularlly look to the publications there regarding emplyeerights and "behind in pay" . They also have an emplyee hotlline to call in your county and will answer you questions. Your emplyer is in trouble with this - do not delay

good luck.

Marcia S Wertenberger

Marcia S. Wertenberger, Esq. PO Box 1689 Wrightwood, CA 92397-1689

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/03/10, 8:41 am

Legal Answer


An employee's rate of pay, or total earned pay, cannot be reduced retroactively. Pay cuts can only be applied to future work.

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
3/03/10, 10:31 am

Legal Answer


No contact the Labor commissionr on Metropolitan Ave. SD, CA 92108. Get the address and go there as they don't answer their phones. Contact me directly.

James Bame

San Diego Law Office Los Angeles- Wilshire Blvd and San Diego locations San Diego And Los Angeles, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search