California | Administrative Law
Legal Question
How should I ask for an extension to a stipulation for a abeyance agreement in California?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
I assume you are one of the parties to the stipulation you'd like to have extended, and that you are able to contact the other party, or its attorney.
I'm tempted to answer "Very, very politely," but I don't think this is helpful and may be entirely obvious.
A one-sentence question like this doesn't give the LawGuru volunteers much to work from; we know nothing about the reason for the stipulation in the first place, or why the time originally allowed turned out to be insufficient. Most stipulations of this sort are intended to give a party time to carry out a responsibility. If there are good reasons, they should be raised with the other party. One can also mention abstract notions like "professional courtesy" or "good-faith efforts."
Most parties will extend stipulations, within reason, if they can see genuine progress being made and are convinced that an extension is warranted and reasonable under the circumstances. The extension should be negotiated before hand by telephone, e-mail, or in-person meetings, then put in writing.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Search Questions and Answers


