California  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
12/23/10, 8:02 pm

Legal Question


I failed to attend jury duty after two summons and as a result, I've received a letter "Order to show cause notice for failure to attend jury service". In the letter it says "In accordance with California code of civil procedure section 209", follows is that I'm being summoned next month to show cause why I should not be held in contempt for failure to attend jury duty. My reasons for failing to appear aren't excusable in my opinion. The reasons are, I work full time, go to school full time, and care for my child. My concern is, what should I expect when I appear on my summons date and will I be likely imprisoned, fined or both? I don't have the money to pay a 1500 so I would like some advise on how to handle this matter in the best possible way. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search