California  |  Administrative Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/06/08, 5:41 pm

Postponing summary judgment date

I am representing myself. The defendant has filed a motion for summary judgment/summary adjudication and the hearing is set for May, 6, 08.

I just received notice of jury duty. I have been scheduled for jury duty the week of May 5, 08. I can not postpone my jury trail again since I had already postponed it once before due to a death in the family. If I file a motion to continue summary judgment, have it served on the defendant by mail, and set a hearing date based on 30 calendar days + 5 days, the hearing to postpone summary judgment will take place after May 6, which is after the motion filled by the defendant.

How can I postpone the summary judgment on May 6, 2008?

Thank you for your advice and time.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search