California  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
2/21/10, 9:49 am

Legal Question


I have a retainer with an attorney that was for an employment case and a qui tam case. The original lawyer added the qui tam attorney to his retainer. I have been notified that the original attorney wants to withdraw from representation in the case.( the employment case has settled with a different firm due to lack of representation by the original firm),

My question, is there a retainer still in effect? For both or either of the attorneys? I was to get a letter but never received one from the originating firm, just an email because I had notified them that I was very unhappy and was considering my options including going to the CA board to file a complaint.

Thank you

Ibby Smith Stofer


question bubble
2/26/10, 1:51 pm

Legal Answer


That is an interesting scenerio, the issue needs to be researched, at a minmum the new attorney has a quantum meriut claim for services rendered. Contact me directly.

James Bame

San Diego Law Office Los Angeles- Wilshire Blvd and San Diego locations San Diego And Los Angeles, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search