California  |  Appeals and Writs

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/18/13, 9:56 pm

how to appeaeal on a crimenal case if i lose my case i have publice attorney and i want to make sure that i know how to appeal if i go to prison

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/19/13, 1:15 am by Zadik Shapiro

Go to law school, pass the bar exam, and practice law for 28 years like myself.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/19/13, 11:14 am by James Goff

If you are represented by counsel you can request that he file your notice of appeal. He can file on your behalf and not be required to represent you on appeal. The Court of Appeal will appoint an attorney to represent you on appeal. The extent of your right to appeal depends on whether you are tried and convicted and sentenced or you enter a plea of guilty. After a guilty plea your right is limited to a sentence in excess to that agreed upon or some other defect in the sentencing but you cannot attack your conviction. If you appeal after trial your attack will focus on all issues. Once you are sentenced irregardless of what appointed trial counsel agrees to do on your behalf right a snivel sheet indicating your desire to appeal from your conviction and send it to the clerk of the trail court. Make sure to keep records of your request, dates and times. Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


James R. Goff, Attorney at Law P.O. Box 6873 Laguna Niguel, CA 92607

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/19/13, 11:27 am by Edward Hoffman

Your public defender should file a notice of appeal for you before the deadline passes. If you can't afford an appellate attorney, one will be appointed to represent you.

Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search