California  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
6/05/07, 1:46 pm

Legal Question


appeals

I am the appellate who filed a timely opening brief. After 3 extesions of time, the respondent's brief was sent to wrong address which i received just days ago. I must file a request to accept a late brief.

The respondent's brief referred to evidence not on record. then I received a order from the court to augment record per request of respondent. I never received any documentation stating respondent filed such a motion therefore I was unable to object to the motion.

Meanwhile, my mother passed last week and life is very full.

I have a great case to appeal, but am up to my eyebrows in ''life''. My reply brief is completed and I plan to submit it tomorrow with request to accept late brief. I'm unsure how to handle the respondent's motion to augment record which has already been ordered by the court. Is there anything I can do about this...again I received no request to augment record from respondent.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your consideration.

charles


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search