California  |  Appeals and Writs

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/01/13, 4:20 pm

In Calif. how many appellate judges does it take to AFFIRM a trial courts judgement on a three judge appellate court?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/01/13, 6:34 pm by Zadik Shapiro

two


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/01/13, 7:03 pm by Anthony Roach

I agree with Mr. Shapiro. It takes 2.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/01/13, 7:38 pm by Edward Hoffman

Any decision by a three-judge appellate panel requires the vote of at least two justices. That's equally true of votes to affirm and of votes to reverse.

Note that cases often involve multiple issues. Justices who agree on some points often disagree on others. When that happens, there will usually be multiple opinions explaining where they agree and where they disagree.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search