California  |  Appeals and Writs

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/25/13, 5:14 pm

I am the petitioner and I am appealing a family law order pro per. The trial court lost my exhibits that were withdrawn in trial court by a biased corrupt judge. I have a declaration from the trial court deputy clerk stating she cannot find them. Can the order be dismissed if I file a motion with the appeal court asking to dismiss the order I am appealing because of that fact?

It will be impossible to have a fair appeal without my evidence.

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/25/13, 6:23 pm by Kelvin Green

You submitted the originals and did not keep copies?

Judges don't withdraw evidence.. Appeals are based on the record and evidence is not re-tried or reviewed at the appellate level. Some of the difficulty you have may be doing this pro per. I think you ought to get an attorney it will just get worse.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/25/13, 7:03 pm by Edward Hoffman

Mr. Green is right that you should get an attorney. He's also right that you should have kept copies of your exhibits. If you did, the Court of Appeal should accept them once it understands that the trial court lost the originals.

In some circumstances where the appellant is unable to provide a sufficient record through no fault of his own, he may be entitled to an automatic reversal. But it is not enough to say that your first effort failed. You must try any alternatives that are reasonably available. Even if there turns out to be nothing you can do, that will not necessarily entitle you to a reversal.

Feel free to contact me directly if you want to discuss your situation in more detail.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/25/13, 9:30 pm by Zadik Shapiro

And if you get the reversal on the grounds that the court lost your exhibits the case will be remanded to the same trial judge who will hold a hearing without the exhibits unless you provide copies and make the same decision again


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search