California | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
ex post facto law
I have a cousin how has been incarcerated for 10 years , during his trial he was offered a plea of eight months, the supossed victim in thisevent, since the time of the trial as stood by my cousin , explaining this was an accident, , eight months after his arrest his sentence was changed due to a new gun law , that was put into place after the fact. the trial attoreny's mom died during trial, apeal lawyer took 30,000 from our family knowing he had cancer, he passed before any papers where filed. He has been inprison for 10 years for a crime that carries less than a year sentence, the victim in this case is a very close friend and till this day insit this is a big mistake. Eight months after his crime the gun law changed and now he is in with no hope insight. I am currently a criminal justice major and know that many of his constiontual right have been violated, I am just seeking some advice. What can be our next step


