California  |  Banking Law

question bubble
9/26/09, 12:00 am

Legal Question


I am a banking customer in California. I went through some tough times over the last couple of years; divorce -- and the financial mess that comes with that -- job loss, foreclosure and, in the process, lost the ability to have a checking, savings and financial strength (some because of me; some because of my ex; and some because of the marriage. Well, I've since started to claw my way back to normalcy, and, in the process of settling some of my known - and some hidden debts -- came across a small ($330) debt owed to Washington Mutual. Since it was so small an amount, I inquired with WaMu (now Chase) as to my standing now with them, and, if I settled my small debt to them, would they, in there infinite grace, be able to allow me to open a new account with them, and thus, bring me closer to financial respectability. Since I am just starting to rebuild my finances, I was weighing what financial obligations I should start to settle with the little money i now have. After some discussions with the financial person at Chase, I was assured that, although they couldn't open an account with them today, if I settled my $330 debt with them, let the paperwork process through the system this past week, thereby giving the system time to erase the debt, I could -- and did -- make an appointment 7 days later to come in and they would be happy to open an account for me. Well, seven days later I come in for my appointment with the same gentleman. And, lo and behold, he informs me that Chase/WaMu have "black-balled" me for life, and I can never have an account with them again!

My question is this: How honest do bank staff have to be to a potential/former customer regarding inquiries like the one I discuss here... I was assured by this gentleman -- through all our discussions, chex-systems check, and questions with additional Chase/Wamu staff that, once they had my money they would start over with me from scratch.

I want to start clearing my financial blemishes, but, had they been honest with me, I could/might have been able to use that money for purposes that could have helped me in the immediate time-frame. Please advise me as to how I can vent my frustrations regarding this, what I consider, an out-and-out lie to recover money owed to the Institution; Whom do i write my letter of complaint to... Call... and just generally make sure this will not happen to more people.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search