California | Banking Law
Legal Question
California has bad check law and so do other states. Which law applies if an out-of-state consumer writes me a check that bounces? California law or the defendant's states?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
That almost sounds like a law school exam question, and like a good law student I'll answer "It depends." What it depends on is the exact law violated. It's possible both apply. California has an interest in protecting its citizens from bad checks no matter where the account is located. So CA law would probably apply. But what if the check was written out of state and sent to CA? See how quickly it can get complicated.
Short answer, though, if the consumer comes to CA and writes you a bad check, it's the same as if they came to CA and caused a traffic accident here. CA law would apply. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Mark E. Saltzman
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
GITTLER & BRADFORD
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-29
Search Questions and Answers


