California  |  Banking Law

question bubble
12/28/09, 10:00 pm

Legal Question


My grandpa has saved about $150,000 CASH in his safe in the house. He wants to give me all those money. I am currently in college with no job and no income. If i deposite that large amount of cash to the bank and then use it for investment later on, i am afraid the Federal, IRS or whatever government agency may go after me. I would like to know if there is anyway i can deposite those money without bringing attention to those agencies? thanks.

Bob.


question bubble
1/03/10, 12:33 am

Legal Answer


He can only give you $10,000 per year without tax consequences. Also, any cash transaction of $10,000 or more must be reported for possible criminal activity.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search