California  |  Banking Law

question bubble
11/06/07, 2:22 pm

Legal Question


identity theft

My exwife and I purchased a home in 98 through an fha loan. we sold the home 2002. We are now getting calls from a collection agency stating we owe $8600 for a second loan taken out on the property early 2002, however we never took out a loan.

I sent them a letter stating I was contesting their collection efforts and requested a copy of the loan docs. what I received was 2 pages of a fax. 1st page states pate 22/28 and gives some details of the loan, sec signature page states page 26/28 and has mine and my wifes signature however there are not notary signatures or seals.

we suspect fraud from our loan agent thinking he may have put an additional signature page within our original loan doc package. Since we trusted him we did not read every single line.

We never received any money for this loan, but expected to repay it.

do I have any options?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search