California  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/16/08, 9:31 pm

Bankrupcy

My father recently had a stroke and now is unable to work. He has a lot of debit and will not be able to pay it back for several years on SSI. Do you think bankrupcy is the best way to go?

3 Answers


Answered on: 1/16/08, 9:44 pm by Amy Ghosh

Re: Bankrupcy

Yes...if those are credit card debts.

Sudent loans, overdue tax, child supports normally cannot be discharged through bankruptcy.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Amy Ghosh 3250 Wilshire Blvd. Suite # 944 Los Angeles, CA 90010

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/18/08, 1:29 pm by Robert F. Cohen

Re: Bankrupcy

Depending on your father's age and whether he ever goes back to work, whether he owns property, etc., he might be judgment proof. Is the SSI for disability? If so, bill collectors would have a hard time collecting. But they could get very annoying! If he wants to avoid the aggravation, it might be a good option.

The court has a fee waiver program depending on income, expenses, and other criteria.

Would he be able to attend one bankruptcy hearing in Sacramento?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert F. Cohen P.O. Box 15896 San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/21/08, 2:00 am by Allen Farshi

Re: Bankrupcy

Assuming your dad was on SSI at the time he was applying for these credit cards, (assuming his debt consists primarily of credit cards) he may have a potential fraud problem.

Call me if you need more information.

Good luck


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Allen Farshi 15260 Ventura Blvd. Suite 1740 Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search