California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Bankruptcy Claim for unpaid wages
I worked for a woman for many years and like everyone else she hired I was hired as a contractor. She had a company and when she paid me she usually wrote me a company check, sometimes a personal check, and occasionally would pay me cash and I would get a 1099 from the company. At some point her business began to fail and to help her out I agreed to work several months with only minimal pay. When all was said and done I had accumulated $9,000.00 of invoices that she could not pay. She ended up claiming (personal) bankruptcy but just before she did this she gave me her $5000.00 car as partial payment but I was still left with $4000.00 in unpaid invoices. My question is, in her bankruptcy, is she personally responsible for this debt and do I have a valid claim against her estate? Or is this a business debt? What if she listed my $4000.00 as one of her debts? Can I get my invoices paid by her estate?


