California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
4/09/02, 3:59 pm

Legal Question


Bankruptcy and Debt Negotiation

The have credit card debt

approx $105000 (current settlement amount $65000)I I

I have not been employed for some time but have been

endeavoring to get a business going, I have been

paying the debt out of savings (including IRA which has

produced a tax liability for which an Offer in

Compromise is pending)

1. I have settled with one account

2 Three are are reduced balance no interest payoff

settlements

3. One is full balance no interest payoff settlement

4. Several are reduced interest payoffs

5. The last is filing suit

Questions

1.What are the longterm credit/employment

consequences of judgment liens vs bankruptcy?

2.Can I use the Chapter 7 process to persuade all

these creditors to accept a partial settlement deferred

repayment plan in lieu of completing a Chapter 7 ( my

non-exempt assets are zero)?

(I do not qualify for Chapter 13 since I do not have

steady (or any) income)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search