California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
3/22/09, 10:26 pm

Legal Question


Bankruptcy effect on reverse mort.

I am in my mid-70's. I did a reverse mortgage for the full value of my home about 5 years ago. Now, of course, the house is worth about half the amount as when I did the reverse mortgage, I lost my job due to a disability several months ago, and have now accumulated about $30,000 in credit card debt and have no hope of repaying it. I see no way out but to declare bankruptcy, but need to know what that will do to my reverse mortgage. Will I lose my house and be out on the street?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search