California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
bankruptcy
I lent someone money. They agreed they owe. They have filed bankruptcy and listed me as a creditor so they will not have to pay me back. How can I collect the money owed to me.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Amy Kleinpeter |
Re: bankruptcy You probably cannot collect this money. Some debts are not discharged in bankruptcy, but a simple loan of money usually is discharged. In other words, it is collectible. Furthermore, if you do try to collect it, you could be sanctioned by the court.
If you believe the debtor is somehow performing a fraud by filing this bankruptcy, you can object to the discharge of your bankruptcy. This is a pretty specific type of action and you would probably need an attorney to do it. From the facts you have presented, you will not able to collect this money.
-- Amy Kleinpeter
http://www.amykleinpeter.com |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


