California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Is bankruptcy an option?
Several years ago I was taken to court an ordered to pay $4,022 as a result of a car accident. After the judgement was made the man who took me to court said; if I payed him $2,000 he would forget about the rest of the money, because he had been in siuations like that before and not received any of the money. Nearly two years after paying him the money, he has sold his claim to a collection agency that now says I am responsible coming up with record of every check I ever wrote him, the remaining balance of the judgement with interest, and legal fees. I am a 21 year old college student who cannot incur these costs. Do I have any legal options? Would Filing bankruptcy be a viable option?


