California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
debt settlement program
what is your opinion on a debt settlement agreement versus bankruptcy?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: L.A. BK Atty Leon Bayer |
Re: debt settlement program I think a debt settlement agreement is appropriate for a person who for various reasons is not a good candidate for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. That said, I meet very, very few people for whom a debt settlement agreement is appropriate.
Negotiating settlements will not save or improve your credit. It simply gets the debt resolved. It often takes 6 months to one year to resolve this process, in my experience. Sometimes a creditor will report the debt forgiveness to the IRS as income. This means that you might owe some income tax on the forgiven amount of any debt.
Creditors usually want payment in full of the settlement immediately. They usually do not offer installments. A good rule of thumb is to expect to pay about fifty cents on the dollar. some will be more, some will be less.
The negotiation process does not stop creditors from pursuing collections against you, until the deal is made and paid.
Also, the amount of each debt may continue to reflect accruing interest and other charges, until the time when each debt is settled or paid off. At the end of the process, you credit will probably be just as bad as it is for someone who has filed bankruptcy, and you will have paid out the money it takes to settle the debts.
From what I have seen, many companys who advertise debt settlement services are bogus. I have met far too many clients who enrolled in such programs and then got nothing for their money and wound up in bankruptcy anyway.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


