California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Eligibility for hmestead exemption
When purchased, our home had a Cal-vet loan. Under the laws this loan had Cal-vet as the legal owner, unlike any other loan/title arrangement. When a fire destroyed our home a few years ago, the title was turned over to us as part of the settlement. As the home has not yet been completed, we cannot get an occupancy permit. Without this permit, we cannot get a homeowner exemption. After fifteen years of ''ownership'' is there not some way to claim the exemption afforded all others in CA should we have to declare bankruptcy?


