California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
How can I file bankruptcy and still keep my home? I've been told I have too much equity, but the equity does me no good because I can't get a line of credit due to my excessive credit card debt. I am going out of business and don't know where to turn. If I were to incorporate would I be able to file bankruptcy as a business and keep my home?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
The homestead exemption in California is $50,000 for an individual debtor living in the home, $75,000 for couples or heads of household, and $125,000 for debtors over 65, or over 55 with incomes of less than $15,000 a year (or $20,000 per year joint incomes). So, when you say you have too much equity in your home, that might be before the homestead exemption has been accounted for. Applying the exemption amount could result in your home not having any equity left such that you could file Chapter 7 bankruptcy, since there would be no nonexempt assets left in the bankruptcy estate to pay the unsecured creditors (which include the credit card debts). Which means the unsecured debts could be discharged completely. Of course, you would still have to continue having sufficient future income to pay the monthly mortgage on the house (assuming there is still a mortgage) or else the bank will foreclose in the future. Chapter 13 could also be filed but that requires you to have a plan showing you have sufficient and continuing future income to pay off the mortgage and a portion or all of the unsecured debts.
Incorporating would do no good since these are prior personal credit card debts and they still could go after your home.
Larry L. Doan, Esq.
https://www.lawguru.com/cgi/bbs/attyPages/liem.html
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


