California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Can I file for Bankruptcy without my husband getting affected by it?
I was married, and everything was under mine and my ex's name. My ex was ordered to pay for our loans, credit cards, etc thru our divorce. However, he somehow managed to get his name out of those obligations by filing fraud. Now, they are going after me and me alone. I have remarried, and myhusband and I have nothing under both our names, nor do we have any assets (home, car,etc) that we own.If I file for bankruptcy, will this affect my husband in any way, and if so, how and what are my options? I cannot afford to pay anything bc I am unemployed. I need to know if I canfile for bankruptcy w/o my husband, and how will this action affect him.


