California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/29/09, 12:00 am

Legal Question


am going to file for bankruptcy cause i suspect i am going to lose a cicil case worth 10 k and i dont want it to garnish do you suggest to file before the ruling ( the judge enter a defaut in a civil ) or file for after i dont want it to go to garnishment ! is there a waiting period after its entered into the sysytem before they can proceede with garnishment


Attorney in Temecula

Local Attorney Conveniently located at the intersection of Winchester and Technology. Practicing Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 Bankruptcy for Businesses and Individuals, Personal Injury Including Auto, Motorcycle, Pedestrian and Wrongful Death Accidents, and Workers Compensation for employees who have been injured on the job. Free Consultations! Call Today for an Appointment! 951-677-8064

Lawyer in Temecula


question bubble
11/03/09, 1:30 pm

Legal Answer


I would suggest meeting with a qualified, experienced bankruptcy attorney sooner than later. You do not necessarily want the judgment to be entered, as there is no waiting period for enforcement of the judgment. There is no strategic reason to delay based on the limited facts you posted. Once you meet with a bankruptcy attorney, there may be other reasons you need to delay filing. Again, it is definitely in your best interests to meet with someone right away.

*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence.

David Gibbs

The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
110 E Avenida Palizada, Ste 201
San Clemente, CA 92672-3956

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search