California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
9/29/08, 10:56 pm

Legal Question


If Ex Files Bankruptcy, joint debt?

My ex and I still own a home(trying to sell in this market) and have a sig amount of joint debt together. Had hoped to sell house and pay it off but it has not happened. Ex is now toying with the idea of filing bankruptcy. If he lists our joint debt what does that do to me and the debt? Will that leave me as the sole responsibility to pay it off? That is not an option and would force me into bankruptcy as well. I have no idea what I can do if anything.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search