California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
What would happen if a house has a mortgage that has a name of two people and then one of them goes bankrupt?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
It depends on what they want to do and the type of bankruptcy. If the house does not have enough equity in it to liquidate and the person filing Chapter 7 bankruptcy wants to continue making payments on the mortgage to keep the house, nothing will change. If that person does not want to continue paying then the other person must pay, or otherwise the bank will eventually foreclose. If the house has a lot of equity and the person who files bankruptcy does not want to lose it but file Chapter 13 bankruptcy, then that person will agree in their Chapter 13 plan to make mortgage payments, among paying off other debts, for the length of the plan, which is 5 years max. After the plan, mortgage payments must continued to be made by someone, of course, in order to keep the house.
Larry L. Doan, Esq.
https://www.lawguru.com/cgi/bbs/attyPages/liem.html
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


