California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
help!!!
my husband and I are on disability. He is 58, I'm 54. We have received notice of a lein placed by the IRS. We are also in debt and want to file bankruptcy. We need to resolve these issues so these people will leave us in peace. What are our options?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gloria Gong |
Re: help!!! There is not enough information to give you options specific to your matter. However, if you own a home, there is only a limited amount of equity that you will be allowed to keep in a bankruptcy proceeding, and it may be for the best to tap any equity in the home through refinance or sale of the home. If the taxes have been owing for more than three years, they may be dischargeable, so long as you had filed the return when due, and if you do not own a home, it may be for the best to wait until enough time has passed to file a bankruptcy in order to obtain a discharge on the taxes. You do not state how much you owe in addition to taxes. I would advise that you contact a bankruptcy attorney in order to get more specific answers to your needs. Since you are on disability, your other creditors may not be able to collect because they cannot attach your disability payments. If you do not own anything of significant value, you may be judgment proof. You may also be able to do an offer in compromise on the taxes owed to reduce them to a reasonable amount. I have been successful with the IRS and the State of California in reducing taxes owed through offers in compromise and through payment arrangements.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


