California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
My ex husband filed for chapter 7 bankruptcy. When we were married we financed a car and a jet ski together. Is this negattively going to affect my credit?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
It may. Depending upon what he plans to do with the car and jet ski (assuming they are in his possession), if he surrenders them in his bankruptcy to get out from under the debt, then yes, your credit will reflect that the debts were discharged in bankruptcy, OR worse, they will come after you for the unpaid balance on the loans. Your only other option is to recover the assets from the ex-husband, and begin making payments. If he is going to reaffirm those debts (agree to pay them post-bankruptcy), then you may not be adversely affected. Call his attorney and find out what he plans to do with those loans and assets. Conversely, you may want to retain a bankruptcy attorney to investigate your ex-husband's case and determine if you need to take any legal action in the case.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


